Problem: Windows 7 Nonpaged Pool Srv Error 2017

I’m using a Windows 7 machine connected to my TV as Media Center and as file server. Connecting from another Windows 7 Laptop via SMB2 and IPV6 I don’t have any issue but mounting via Samba the share on my Windows 7 file server from my Linux machine I ran into a problem wile copying some GB of files.
On Linux machine I get a SMB network error and trying to unmounting and remounting the share I receive the error:

mount error(12): Cannot allocate memory
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g.man mount.cifs)

On the Event Viewer System log of Windows 7 machine, I found the following error:

Source: srv
Event ID: 2017
Level: Error
The server was unable to allocate from the system nonpaged pool because the server reached the configured limit for nonpaged pool allocations.

Here the solution that I found:

Open regedit, set the following registry key to ‘1′:

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management\LargeSystemCache

and set the following registry key to ‘3′:

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Parameters\Size

Source: http://alan.lamielle.net/2009/09/03/windows-7-nonpaged-pool-srv-error-2017

Leave a Reply

