Problem: Closing Modern Apps (Metro) not returning to Start Screen in Windows 8.1

I updated my Home Media Center from W8 to W8.1.

After installing the Windows 8.1 Update, I found that closing Modern Apps takes me to Desktop rather than taking me to Start Screen. This is not my preferred behavior on a Media Center.
If I disable the option “When I sign in or close all apps on a screen, go to the desktop instead of Start” (right click on the taskbar and then click Properties and switch to the Navigation tab), I only have Start Screen at logon, but the system still goes to Desktop on Modern Apps closing.

W8NavBar

In order to make the above-mentioned option work as you expected from it, you need to configure an additional setting. Open the Taskbar and Navigation properties window, and uncheck the “Show Windows Store apps on the taskbar” option.

W8TaskBar
You can now close all the running Modern Apps and be able to return to Start Screen!

Leave a Reply

